The Only TEN I See

This past week has been crazy, in a great way!  I’m hoping I’ll be able to share some exciting news with you very soon!

Most of y’all know that Eric and I live in South Carolina, and our families live in Texas.  We are pretty fortunate to have parent’s that make time to visit us, but seeing family twice a year isn’t really ideal.  So, when my parents planned a trip to Tennessee and were going to be less than 4 hours away, I jumped at the chance to crash their vacation…they didn’t seem to mind haha. (Muscle tank is from my last Friday Favorites!)

We rented a cabin in Townsend, Tn.  It’s a small town full of friendly people nestled in-between Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge, Tn.  This would be a great place for couples or families with small kids, since it’s only a few minutes up the road from the craziness of Pigeon Forge.

The very first thing we did was ride the Alpine Roller Coaster.  It was incredible! Getting to control the speed of your own roller coaster, nothing beats that!  Well…one thing beats that, my dad’s before and after pictures on the roller coaster! (Please leave your funny captions for these pics in the comments!!)

PhotoGrid_1490188326424

We also drove the Cades Cove Scenic Loop, and it was beautiful!  Living in the upstate of South Carolina for so long (almost 5 years, crazy!), I’ve started to take for granted how beautiful this side of the country is.  It was neat to see the sights through my parents’ eyes.  As much as I love Texas, she doesn’t have mountains and views like this.  And yes, Texas is a she.

Easily the best part of our time in Townsend was driving the Mtn Trax ATV’s! We have never done anything like this, before!  My mom is not known for getting dirty, so I was definitely caught off guard when she told me what we were doing!  If you have never gone mudding in an ATV, get online and book a ride now!  You can thank me later.  Also, special shout out to Jake at Mtn Trax for being so great and taking so many pictures and videos for us!  I’m not sure these pictures fully capture how wet and muddy we were!

I only had 48 hours in Townsend, but it was so fun-filled.  I can’t wait to go back, and take the husband with me!

I’m a huge believer in eating local when on vacation.  Ask my husband, I have a very strict no chain restaurant policy.  I’m all about embracing the culture and supporting the locals.  Here are my top picks to #EatLocal in Townsend: Trailhead Steakhouse (and seafood) & Burger Master Drive In.  Trailhead is highend, but reasonably priced with good portion size.  Burger Master is super cheap and the burgers are really good.  Pro tip:  If you don’t have a huge appetite, get the kids meal burger, it comes with ice cream!

Side note: Before I arrived, my parents went on an unguided horseback ride!  They had a blast! Mountain horseback riding, without a guide, you know it’s going to be awesome!

horse-01

Thanks for reading y’all!  One of the neatest things about my blog is seeing where all my readers are from!  Comment with what city, state or country you’re reading from in the comments below! Bonus – tell me the best parts of your state and why I should visit there next!  Don’t forget to hit that subscribe button!

XOXO,

Sara

3 thoughts on “The Only TEN I See

  1. I live in Bethlehem, PA. Also known as Christmas City. It is full of rich history and is fun to visit anytime – but Christmas time is magical. Or during MusikFest – a 10 day festival that brings everyone from local bands to Snoop Dogg to Weezer to Toby Keith.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That sounds wonderful!! I love Christmastime, and all the events that go along with it!
      We will actually be about an hour away from you for a wedding this December! So, this is perfect!
      P.S. I LOVE your name!

      Like

  2. I love Gatlinburg, such an awesome getaway location! I’m from Louisville, KY and highly recommend a visit here too – it’s so much more fun then people think it will be! Horse racing most of the summer, a walking bridge to Indiana, Bardstown road & Frankfurt Ave, exploring ont eh waterfront – tons of stuff to do here – let me know if you ever come this way!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

